Home / About Us / Board

GGA Board 2021 

GGA Board Left to Right – Erin Gorter (Vice Chair), Graham Smith, Dr Kelly Pearce, Debbie Gillam, Peter Roberts (Chair), Nicole Batten, Dr Nathan Craig. To be added – elected August 31, 2021, Greg Curnow.


Independent Directors (Appointed)

Peter Roberts
Chair, Independent Director

Appointed: September 25, 2018

Formerly a farmer from Dunn Rock, Peter is a graduate of Harvard Agribusiness Seminars and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Peter was appointed as a GGA Independent Director in September 2018 and to GGA Chair in September 2020. Peter has extensive leadership experience as past Chair of the GRDC Western Panel from 2011-2018, past non-executive Director of Barley Australia, past Western Malting Barley Advisory Committee member and past Chair of South East Premium Wheat Growers Association (SEPWA).

Erin Gorter
Vice Chair, Independent Director

Appointed: December 13, 2018

Erin Gorter has extensive experience in working with grower groups and was a driving force in managing two WA groups – Evergreen Farming and Southern Dirt. She is a rural industry consultant with Agvivo; a non-executive director of Meat & Livestock Australia Limited and its subsidiary companies; and manages all facets of the Ag4U Career Pipeline Program. Erin is a graduate of the Australian Institute for Company Directors Program and a graduate of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation program. Most recently in 2021, Erin was appointed to the Council of Australian Arab Relations (CAAR). 

Graham Smith
Independent Director

Appointed: 25 September, 2020

Graham has a passion for helping farmers improve long-term viability and sustainability through improved research and innovation. He is an experienced Chief Executive, having led the Institute of Environmental Science and Research; a fascinating state-owned science and technology organisation in New Zealand, Federated Farmers; New Zealand’s high-profile farming group, and the multi-faceted commercialisation group at the University of South Australia. He has also held a senior management role at AgResearch, a globally significant agricultural research and innovation group.

Member Directors (Elected)

Nicole Batten
Member Director (YFIG)

Term: December 3, 2019 – AGM 2022

Nicole Batten is Director of Batten Farms, Yuna and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

A passionate advocate for the agricultural industry and sustainable rural communities, she holds a number of board roles including the WA Biosecurity Council, Yuna Farm Improvement Group Secretary, Shire of Chapman Valley councillor and Rabobank Client Council Member.

Previous roles include Advisory Group member for the National Centre for Farmer Health and former National & WA Chairperson of Rural Edge.

Dr Nathan Craig
Member Director (WMG)

Term: June 12, 2018 – AGM 2022

Nathan Craig is the executive officer of West Midlands Group and has held positions with South East Prime Lamb Achiever group in South Australia and is a former committee member of the Victorian No-till Farmers Association.

He has strong experience in managing large scale research and development projects and business and farm management.

Debbie Gillam
Member Director (MIG)

Term: August 31, 2020 – AGM 2022

Debbie Gillam is a grower member of the Mingenew Irwin Group (MIG) and a former MIG staff member.

This hands on experience ensures Debbie understands the roles and issues of grower groups, their importance to their region and the challenges faced by growers. In her capacity as a MIG staff member, she has developed proposals, executed projects and has a strong understanding of stakeholder consultation.

Debbie is an acting member of the Dongara District High School Board and P&C and Secretary of the Irwin District Charity Ball. She is a CBH 2020 Scholarship recipient and now graduate of the Leadership WA Signature Leaders Program.

Greg Curnow
Member Director (SEPWA)

Term: August 31, 2021 – AGM 2023

A grain grower from Esperance, Greg has enjoyed a long association as a member of South East Premium Wheat Growers Association (SEPWA).

He first joined the Executive Committee in 2008, serving as Vice President from 2011 to 2015, President from 2015 to 2018 and Treasurer until he stood down from the Executive Committee in 2021 as part of SEPWA’s succession process to allow for renewal of the Executive Committee. Greg has since taken on the role of Chair of SEPWA’s R&D Sub committee.

Greg is a strong believer in contributing to community as well as the broader agricultural industry and has also served on a number of local community association committees over the years recently venturing into the philanthropic sector.

Dr Kelly Manton-Pearce
Member Director (CFIG)

Term: August 31, 2021 – AGM 2023

Kelly Pearce is a grain and prime lamb producer based in Yealering. She has a 17-year career in Agricultural Research and coordinates a number of regional science and innovation projects through her business Wheatbelt Science Pty Ltd.

Kelly is currently the Executive Officer at Facey Group, is on the steering committee for the SW WA Drought Adoption & Innovation Hub, is a Director of the WA Meat Industry Authority (WAMIA), the Biosecurity Council of WA and a Committee Member of the Federal Gene Technology Technical Advisory Committee, Corrigin Farm Improvement Group and the WA Sheep & Goat Industry Funding Scheme Management Committee.

Kelly is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a 2012 Nuffield Scholar.